1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bursaries
  4. >
  5. Recipients



Bursary recipient collage

Kin Canada Bursaries, a program of the Hal Rogers Endowment Fund (HREF) is proud to
have awarded bursaries to 1096 students across Canada since its inception in 1994. 

This year, Kin Canada Bursaries awarded 56 deserving students with a $1,000 bursary for
their 2019-20 school year. Successful applicants were chosen based on their community
and school involvement, knowledge of Kin Canada and financial need. See the 
list of
recipients below. 


Named Bursaries

The Hal Rogers Endowment Fund disburses a number of named bursaries in honour of people/organizations who have shown support for Kin Canada Bursaries through their financial commitment and or advocacy for the program. 

Diane Rogers
   The Diane Rogers Bursary for Excellence

    The Diane Rogers Bursary for Excellence was established in 2019 to honour the longstanding contributions and     
    support of Diane Rogers to the Hal Rogers Endowment Fund. 
Diane Rogers is the daughter of Kin Canada’s Founder,
    Hal Rogers O.C., O.B.E.  Diane Rogers 
served as the honourary spokesperson of the Hal Rogers Endowment
This bursary is awarded to the top scoring applicant of each year. 

    2018-19 recipient- Nishaant Bhambra


Kevin Denbok   Kevin Denbok Bursary for Musical Studies

    The Kevin Denbok Bursary for Musical Studies, which was established at the 1987 National Convention to honour the
    memory of Kevin Denbok, is available to persons wishing to pursue excellence in the field of music at a school of
In 1982, Kevin Denbok became the first person in the history of Kin to be made an honorary member of the
    Association. Kevin, who suffered from cystic fibrosis, died on Nov. 24, 1986, at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto
    approximately two weeks before his 22
nd birthday. Kevin dedicated his life and his music to finding a cure or control for
    cystic fibrosis and worked extensively with Kinsmen and Kinette clubs across Canada to raise funds for cystic fibrosis
    research and treatment.

                                    2018-19 recipient- Cassandra Riles

Bob Pittman   Bob Pittman Bursary for Business Studies

    The Bob Pittman Bursary for Business Studies, which was established by the 1990-1991 National Board of Directors to
    honour the memory of Bob Pittman, is available to persons wishing to pursue excellence in the field of business. 
In 1990,
    Kin Bob Pittman, Past Governor of District 4, was made a life member of the Association. Bob dedicated his life and
    career to striving for excellence through personal development.

     2018-19 recipient- Alexis Halldorson


Ian F McClure

    Ian F. McClure Bursary for Business Studies

     The Ian F. McClure Bursary for Business Studies, which was established in 2019 to honour the contributions of Ian F.   
     McClure to the Hal Rogers Endowment Fund, is available to persons residing in Ontario wishing to pursue excellence in
     the field of business. If there are no eligible business applicants in a year, applicants enrolled in a psychology program are
Ian F. McClure was a life member of Kin Canada. He served as the Governor of District 8 in 1968-69. He was the
     first Kinsmen to be president of Cystic Fibrosis Canada, where he served from 1976 to 1978. Ian F. McClure was also a
     generous supporter of The Hal Rogers Endowment Fund.

                                   2018-19 recipient- Ruolan Yang

winnipeg kinsmen logo

   Winnipeg Kinsmen Jackpot Bingo Bursary

     First awarded in 2009, this bursary was named after the Winnipeg Kinsmen for reaching the $50,000     
     cumulative club donation level. 
The club requested the name include “Jackpot Bingo” to recognize the source
     of the funds.T
his bursary is awarded to the applicant submitted by the club,  or f there is no qualified 
     submission from the club, then the bursary goes to the applicant from the nearest geographical location to the

                                                       2018-19 recipient - Rebecca Storey

Kin Canada Foundation  Kin Canada Foundation Bursary

   This bursary made possible by 10-year funding from the Kin Canada Foundation. First awarded in
   2018, it will be awarded
 up to and including the year 2027.This bursary is in support of recipients with
   a military or first responder background.   

                                                                    2018-19 recipient-  Robert Wright


 All 2018-19 bursary recipients 

British Columbia

Loyle Campbell
Alison Greenfield
Angitha Mriduraj
Olivia Sosnowski
Braedon Van Gorkom
Dakota Willick


Chelsea Downing
Rylie Essington
Sophia Fraser
Madison Gilborn
Hayley Jacques
Gavin Johnsen
Kristin Larson
Sloan Pedersen
Melissa Smith
Isabelle Steed
Cale Stefan
Zhenngxu Wen
Simon Wu


      Rayna Anderson
      Dallyn Bast
      Heidi Branning
      Bailey Danderfer
      Isabella Grajczyk
      Alexis Halldorson
      Ashley Peterson
      Natasha Vaughan


      Shauna Creasy
      Rebecca Storey


      Mackenzie Allan-Langford
      Nishaant Bhambra
      Catherine Cadigan
      Keira Cameron
      Isabella Daneyko
      Mercedes Ecclestone
      Nina Jodko-Narkiewicz
      Sarah Maxim
      Amanda Mayer
      Mary Metcalfe
      Maeve Miskelly
      Josee Shank
      Mikayla Skyring
      Shantal Stade
      Cassidy Tizzard
      Olivia Waldriff
      Robert Wright
      Ruolan Yang


     New Brunswick

      Kayla Cornett
      Olivia Munn


      Reanna Eddison


     Nova Scotia

      Erika Bird
      Biancia Bourgeois
      Jack Crouse
      Kaylee Deveau
      Christian Simons