1. Home
  2. >
  3. Bursaries
  4. >
  5. Recipients



Bursary recipient collage

Kin Canada Bursaries, a program of the Hal Rogers Endowment Fund (HREF) is proud to
have disbursed bursaries to 1287 students across Canada since its inception in 1994. 

This year, Kin Canada Bursaries awarded 72 $1000 bursaries to deserving students across Canada for their 2022-23 school year. Successful applicants were chosen based on their community
and school involvement, knowledge of Kin Canada and financial need. See the 
list of
recipients below. 


Named Bursaries

The Hal Rogers Endowment Fund disburses a number of named bursaries in honour of people/organizations who have shown support for Kin Canada Bursaries through their financial commitment and or advocacy for the program. 

Diane Rogers
   The Diane Rogers Bursary for Excellence

    The Diane Rogers Bursary for Excellence was established in 2019 to honour the longstanding contributions and     
    support of Diane Rogers to the Hal Rogers Endowment Fund. 
Diane Rogers is the daughter of Kin Canada’s Founder,
    Hal Rogers O.C., O.B.E.  Diane Rogers 
served as the honourary spokesperson of the Hal Rogers Endowment
This bursary is awarded to the top scoring applicant of each year. 

    2022 recipient - Muhammed Shareef


Kevin Denbok   Kevin Denbok Bursary for Musical Studies

    The Kevin Denbok Bursary for Musical Studies, which was established at the 1987 National Convention to honour the
    memory of Kevin Denbok, is available to persons wishing to pursue excellence in the field of music at a school of
In 1982, Kevin Denbok became the first person in the history of Kin to be made an honorary member of the
    Association. Kevin, who suffered from cystic fibrosis, died on Nov. 24, 1986, at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto
    approximately two weeks before his 22
nd birthday. Kevin dedicated his life and his music to finding a cure or control for
    cystic fibrosis and worked extensively with Kinsmen and Kinette clubs across Canada to raise funds for cystic fibrosis
    research and treatment.

                                    2022 recipient - Grace Henshaw

Bob Pittman   Bob Pittman Bursary for Business Studies

    The Bob Pittman Bursary for Business Studies, which was established by the 1990-1991 National Board of Directors to
    honour the memory of Bob Pittman, is available to persons wishing to pursue excellence in the field of business. 
In 1990,
    Kin Bob Pittman, Past Governor of District 4, was made a life member of the Association. Bob dedicated his life and
    career to striving for excellence through personal development.

     2022 recipient - Patrick Blomme


Ian F McClure

    Ian F. McClure Bursary for Business Studies

     The Ian F. McClure Bursary for Business Studies, which was established in 2019 to honour the contributions of Ian F.   
     McClure to the Hal Rogers Endowment Fund, is available to persons residing in Ontario wishing to pursue excellence in
     the field of business. If there are no eligible business applicants in a year, applicants enrolled in a psychology program are
Ian F. McClure was a life member of Kin Canada. He served as the Governor of District 8 in 1968-69. He was the
     first Kinsmen to be president of Cystic Fibrosis Canada, where he served from 1976 to 1978. Ian F. McClure was also a
     generous supporter of The Hal Rogers Endowment Fund.

                                   2022 recipient - Keira French

winnipeg kinsmen logo

Colin Edwards Kin Bursary

First awarded in 2009, this bursary was named after the Winnipeg Kinsmen for reaching the $50,000 cumulative club donation level. The club initially requested the name include “Jackpot Bingo” to  recognize the source of the funds. The name of the bursary was changed in 2021 to recognize Colin Edwards' 40 years of dedicated service to the club. This bursary is awarded to the applicant submitted by the club. If there is no qualified submission from the club, then the bursary goes to the applicant from the nearest geographical location. 

                                   2022 recipient - Amber Boulet


Kin Canada Foundation  Kin Canada Foundation Bursary

   This bursary made possible by 10-year funding from the Kin Canada Foundation. First awarded in
   2018, it will be awarded
 up to and including the year 2027. This bursary is in support of recipients with
   a military or first responder background.   

                                   2021 recipient - Savir Singh Rathee

Time to Thrive Bursary

New this year, this bursary is awarded to the top-scoring applicant that is a parent or single parent, made possible by the Kinette Club of Calgary.

2022 Recipient: Crystal Bloomfield


All 2021-2022 Bursary Recipients 


British Columbia

Ara Christie
Katie Cornett
William Hogan
Julia Hwang
Areef Patel
Christina Peet Williams
Coral Ruttan


Leah Basanov
Patrick Blomme
Shelby Gilborn
Jayden Jaindl
Kimberly King
Allison Martens
Olivia Parker
Madison Pool
Amber Reeves
Muhammed Shareef
Kateryna Simeonoff
William Smith
Keely Smith
Lidia Sumamo
Hannah Swanson
Kianna Wildeman
Hailyn Zimmer


Eve Boss
Dakota Cardinal
Allie Gawryluik
Isabella Iula
Kabrea  Rogers
Kaitlyn  Wright


Crystal Bloomfield
Amber Boulet
Kendall McCracken
Chyler Webb


Noah Bertoni
Huda Bibi
Jacqueline Chung
Jackson Dubinsky
Alexandra Elmslie
Madeleine Enns
Khush Fatima
Keira French
Grayce Gollogly
Brianna Hakkers
Rowan Brent Krahn
Emma LeBrun
Hiba Mohammed
Melissa Morrish
Christina Nguyen
Zoe O'Grady
Arfha Rahman
Savir Singh Rathee
Julia Stimpson
Mikayla Timpson
Maggie Torrance
Gabriel  Trozzi Stamou
Madison Vanstone
Angelina Violo
Isabella Violo




No recipients



New Brunswick

Erika Blackmore
Arlane Lebel
Katelyn LeBlanc
Carrie O'Neill
Victoria Robart



Emily Coffin



 Nova Scotia


Emily Devereaux
Grace Henshaw
Caelyn Parker
Nadia Rennehan


 Prince Edward Island


Ella Stead